#BodyArt

Hello Sisi and everyone.

Happy Sallah celebration to our Muslim friends worldwide. The months run so fast after January. 😔

These past Tuesday and Wednesday were declared public holidays by the government for Sallah celebration. It was a bit fun for me as my Muslim neighbors treated family and friends to different deliacies and enough fried ram meat to go round.

My good friend, Idowu, had the idea of getting an henna and I decided to get one too. It was a beautiful art work. This brought back  memories of growing up and seeing tattoo on people and tend to misjudge them as either louts, criminals or irresponsible people… (how wrong could I be 😆). Although, I’ve come across and read of those who regretted the decision to get one, some are proud of theirs and see it as symbolic.

Being a Christain and growing up in Nigeria, it won’t be surprising to beat the demons out of me if I had a tattoo or even thought of it back then. My mother would have prayed the be-Jesus out of me…😓.

Even though the body art on me is an henna which is temporary, I found out that the black one is mixed with chemical and have left some people with some bad reaction (I was lucky I didn’t react to it, though felt some tingling sensation on my neck) and that was the one I got (didn’t have prior knowledge). The brown or orange colour is much safer and if one wants to go for the black, I would suggest one try it out on just a tiny part of the hand and see the reaction before embarking on a full body art.

As much as I won’t  go for a permanent tattoo, I’ve learn to appreciate and respect people’s choices on how they live their lives, tattoo or no tattoo. In the meantime, I’m loving my body art.

So, the question is….would you beautify your body with an henna or a tattoo and how do you feel about body art? 😊

Pics credit: Google and my mobile😉.

 

 

14 thoughts on “#BodyArt

  1. Hi dear, I’ve always loved henna tattoos. I think they’re so beautiful. I’d love to get a permanent one but I heard you foreclose any opportunity to be a blood donor, so I’ll opt for my henna anytime, any day. 😊

    Like

    • Hi I.d. I honestly don’t share in the belief that those on body arts cannot donate blood; I have a friend who has a tattoo and he donates blood regularly, so I ain’t too sure if that assumption is valid dear. Kindly reconfirm.

      Like

  2. In as much as I wouldn’t judge anyone for having permanent or temporary body artwork, I’m still not yet comfortable having it on me. This could be due to some internalised belief system which I’m yet to grow out of.

    Like

  3. I became exposed for the first time to the Henna during my brief stint in Northern Nigeria for NYSC.

    My then girlfriend who was an Eggon Muslim from Nasarawa (most people would say Hausa, but she wasn’t, even though she speaks the language like it’s her mother tongue) had it done often on her hands and feet during important periods of celebration, like the one we just had.

    I eventually accepted it for what it is after understanding her rationale behind it, as she explained, that in addition to beautification of a young woman, especially brides for marriage ceremonies, it also serves as a visible/outward sign to display an individual’s piety and devotion to the muslim tradition. Who was I to question her belief?

    It’s important to know, however, that the Henna is different from the tattoo, both in materials used and application, although both appear much alike most times and both are forms of body art.

    Personally, inscriptions of any kind on my body is just not my thing, but I have never and won’t judge anyone who is comfortable or adventurous enough to adorn one.

    Cheers!..

    Like

  4. I’m indifferent about tattoos and body art, one minute I really want one, the other minute, I don’t. Nice piece btw,

    Like

Leave a comment